Academic PE

Why study A Level PE?

Sport is one of the world’s leading businesses and knowledge of Sports Science is at the forefront for all top elite performers as well as those who want to improve their physical and mental well-being.  It is a very diverse, stimulating and challenging course.  The theoretical components of Anatomy and Physiology, Exercise Physiology, Biomechanics, Sports Acquisition, Sports Psychology, Emergence of Modern Sport and Global Issues as well as an in-depth analysis of performance itself give the students an in-depth understanding of the factors and challenges that affect all performers, both on and off the field.

What skills are developed through the study of A Level PE?

The lessons offer a mix of theoretical and practical learning both in and out of the classroom. We use an interactive whiteboard and various digital resources to support the students learning. Practical application of the theory is extremely valuable and a wide variety of teaching methods and activities are used to engage the students. It is always interesting to see sporty students being competitive in activities within the classroom!

What opportunities are there having studied A level PE?

Having taken A level PE, students can go on to take degrees in Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Science, Physiotherapy, Leisure Studies or Recreational Management. It is also important to state that the vast majority of universities will now accept this A Level as a qualification to any course.

The department has its own designated classroom and the staff are enthusiastic and passionate sports teachers, each with a specialist areas of knowledge, who work to provide an enjoyable and stimulating environment for every student.

Staff

Mr M Lucas – Head of Department – mlucas@ratcliffecollege.com

Miss A Stafford (Director of Sport) – astafford@ratcliffecollege.com

Mr E Woodcock – ewoodcock@ratcliffecollege.com

Mr M Kaye – mkaye@ratcliffecollege.com

Miss E Bakewell – ebakewell@ratcliffecollege.com

Miss L Gentle – lgentle@ratcliffecollege.com