Learning Support

The Learning Support Department is very proud of its friendly open-door policy, supporting all students across the school whether or not they have special educational needs. 

Who we are

The Learning Support Department team comprise five members of teaching staff, all of whom have a specialist postgraduate qualification in teaching students with dyslexia; one of the specialist teachers works primarily within the Preparatory School.  We are also lucky to have enlisted the services of two highly experienced Teaching Assistants who ably support our Senior School students within the classroom. 

What we can offer

We are able to offer small group and paired academic support to students with learning difficulties, such as dyslexia.  Classes take place within four purpose-built classrooms complete with computers and specialist resources.  

In the Preparatory School, we offer phonic and numeracy ‘intervention’ programmes which are delivered by class teachers and teaching assistants, targeting specific areas of weakness.  We also provide small group Learning Support lessons which focus on a variety of literacy and numeracy support.  

Within the Senior School, students between Years 7-11 can attend Learning Support sessions in place of a language option.  They will work on a range of topics including: study skills, learning styles, reading comprehension, punctuation, grammar, spelling, writing, numeracy skills, revision and examination technique.  Emphasis is on providing a multisensory teaching style which lends itself to the specific needs of students with learning difficulties. 

In addition, we can provide paired Specialist Tuition sessions for students in both the Preparatory and Senior Schools who require additional support. However, please note, that these carry an extra charge, which is currently £43 per hour. 

The Department also hosts drop-in sessions for any Senior School student who may be interested, whether or not they have a learning difficulty.  These sessions provide support for any student that requires a little help with their academic work, or simply need a sympathetic ear. 

Staff Members

Mrs Jenny Cluley
SENCO, Head of Learning Support, Specialist Literacy Teacher, Senior School – jcluley@ratcliffecollege.com    

Mrs Eleanor Waters
Specialist Literacy Teacher, Senior School (Second in Department) – ewaters@ratcliffecollege.com 

Mrs Lucy Davids
Specialist Literacy Teacher, Senior School – ldavids@ratcliffecollege.com  

Mrs Jo Leite
Specialist Teacher, Senior School – jleite@ratcliffecollege.com 

Mrs Carey Latham
Assistant SENCO,  Specialist Literacy/Numeracy Teacher, Prep School – clatham@ratcliffecollege.com 

Mrs Allison Batten
Teaching Assistant – abatten@ratcliffecollege.com 

Mrs Sofia Hussain
Teaching Assistant – shussain@ratcliffecollege.com

Mrs Susan Pascoe
Teaching Assistant (Maths) – spascoe@ratcliffecollege.com