Biology – Ages 11-16

Biology at Ratcliffe College is a dynamic, contemporary and hands-on experience.  We are a passionate team who are dedicated to igniting and nurturing Biological curiosity and enquiry.  

Biology not only deals with facts and functions, but also allows students to consider and discuss the implications of developments in modern Biology with reference to social, ethical and moral perspectives.  Studying Biology allows students to make rational and considered judgements about scientific progress based not just on opinions but also on an understanding of the scientific principles which lie behind these.  When studying Biology at Ratcliffe, students will partake in regular practical work that enhances student understanding and enjoyment of the subject. 

Achievement

For many years now, the Biology Department have enjoyed excellent examination results at GCSE.  In the academic year 2017 – 2018, 96% of IGCSE Biology grades awarded were A*/A whilst 100% were a pass.  Biology remains a popular subject at Ratcliffe.

Enrichment Opportunities

Biology Olympiad Competition: Year 10 students take part in the British Biology Olympiad organised by the Royal Society of Biology. The aim of the competition is to challenge and stimulate students with an interest in Biology to expand and extend their talents.  

Pets Corner: The Biology Department is in a fortunate position to also run a popular lunchtime club where students volunteer their time to handle, feed and clean out our resident pets – rabbits and guinea pigs. 

Staff

Mr Steve Thorpe, Head of Biology and Head of Year 10 – sthorpe@ratcliffecollege.com
Mrs Amanda Dungey, Teacher of Biology – adungey@ratcliffecollege.com 

Dr Sarah Ferguson, Teacher of Biology – sferguson@ratcliffecollege.com
Ms Daniella Gatt, Teacher of Biology – dgatt@ratcliffecollege.com
Dr Anne Robinson, Teacher of Biology – arobinson@ratcliffecollege.com
Mrs Suzanne Widger, Biology and Science Technician – swidger@ratcliffecollege.com 

The Biology course has been fun and fulfilling.  Over the last three year I enjoyed learning in an environment which feels inclusive whilst giving me the independence to learn from and engage in lessons.

Year 11 student, April 2018